Skip to content

Hiding from Kids

April 13, 2010

Rya takes a break

Our sweet, docile Toggenburg, Rya, has grown increasingly vocal in the two weeks since her bucklings were born. We’re happy to see the bucks thriving, but living in a residential neighborhood makes me eager to figure out why she’s suddenly hollering every time she catches sight of one of her keepers. She’s a good mom and takes care of the bounding bucks, but I’m beginning to think she gets tired of them chasing her teats all day – and probably all night. When I found her hiding in an igloo doghouse today, I could empathize with her. Even doting moms need a break every now and then, and Rya is no exception.

We always keep a lookout for interesting items to recycle on the homestead. Most ‘finds’ become part of livestock housing or fencing, but sometimes we find things that can be used as waterers, feed troughs, hay racks, mineral dispensers and even toys. I picked up this doghouse from the side of the road in Eastham last week, and I thought it would be a nice little hiding place for the baby bucks. I haven’t seen them use it yet, so I was excited to see something moving around inside. Imagine my surprise when that something turned out to be their mom! I do not know how she managed to get in there and turn around, but I will have to keep an eye on that structure to make sure she isn’t stuck in there. Maybe I will also do some buckling babysitting and let them follow me around for a change as I fence the new section of the garden and make raised beds. It’s the least I can do to support our new mommy on the farm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 9:39 pm

    LOL! I found myself wanting to hide from the kids when they were little too. 😉

  2. April 14, 2010 4:25 pm

    Alison – my two year old has recently been trying out his Terrible Attitude, which makes me just pine for a few minutes in the doghouse!

Trackbacks

  1. Farmyard helpers « Cape Native

Leave a Reply

